The Cheyenne County Sheriff's Office is committed to the prevention of traffic accidents through traffic enforcement and community education pertaining to safe / defensive driving practices. We continually evaluate traffic trends and crash related data to focus patrol and enforcement efforts in areas we believe can have an impact on the reduction of traffic crashes and fatalities.
Seat belts Save Lives! Buckle up, every trip, every time!
Currently, Nebraska State Statute requires every operator of a motor vehicle involved in a crash resulting in either injury, death, or damages over $1,000.00 to the property of any one person (including the operator) must complete and submit a confidential Driver’s Motor Vehicle Crash Report within 10 days following the crash.
Fill out and submit your Driver's Motor Vehicle Crash Report electronically within 10 day of the crash via the Driver Crash Reporting website >
Download the Driver's Motor Vehicle Crash Report. Print and fill out the report in its entirety. Make sure the copy you submit includes your signature.
Mail completed report within 10 days of accident to:
Highway Safety, Nebraska Department of Transportation
P.O. Box 94759
Lincoln, NE 68509-4759
The cost is $13 + tax. You may obtain it in online, by mail, or in person from Highway Safety.
Questions about buying a Crash Report from Highway Safety? Call 402-479-4645
To obtain a copy of an Investigators Motor Vehicle Accident Report investigated by the Cheyenne County Sheriff's Office, contact the Sheriff's Office in person or by calling 308-254-2922
If someone is injured or killed, or someone has over $1000.00 in damage then all drivers involved are required to file a Driver’s Motor Vehicle Crash Report with Highway Safety within 10 days of the crash. Driver Crash Reporting website >
All drivers involved in a crash in which someone is injured or killed, or someone has damage over $1000.00 are required to file a Driver’s Motor Vehicle Crash Report with Highway Safety, no matter who is at fault, within 10 days of the occurrence.
You can get a Driver’s Motor Vehicle Crash Report from: The easiest way to complete a Driver's Motor Vehicle Crash Report is by filling out the form online at the Driver Crash Reporting website. You can also get a paper form from the officer that investigated your accident, the police or sheriff’s department, your insurance agent, or by calling Highway Safety, Nebraska Department of Roads (402) 479-4645. (Note) Some of the older white accident forms that you receive from a police department or Sheriff's Office may have an old mailing address listed. The correct mailing address for for Driver's Motor Vehicle Crash Reports is Highway Safety, Nebraska Department of Transportation P.O. Box 94759 Lincoln, NE 68509-4759.
The officer’s report is public information. You may purchase a certified copy for $13.00 + TAX. To request a copy of an officer’s report send the following information:
No. All driver’s reports are confidential by law.
Only the Department of Motor Vehicles can suspend a person’s driver’s license.
All listed underlined links above are active links to take you directly to specific referenced web pages. Although the Cheyenne County Sheriff's website is mobile device compatible, some connected links may not be. For the best functionality of a linked site, open our website on a PC.
Nebraska Revised Statute 60-699 pertains to Accidents; reports required of operators and owners; when; supplemental reports; reports to peace officers open to public inspection; limitation on use as evidence; confidential information; violation; penalty.
The link below will take you directly to the United States Department of Transportation NHTSA (National Highway Traffic Safety Administration) web page. NHTSA promotes safe behaviors on our nation's roads. Topics include Child Safety, Teen Driving, Adapted Vehicles, Risky Driving, Vehicle Theft Prevention, Pedestrian Safety, Bicycle Safety, Older Drivers, School Bus Safety, Motorcycle Safety and much more.